About Sketching, by Jasper Salwey

About Sketching: The Art and Practice of Capturing the Moment by [Salwey, Jasper, Squirrell, Leonard]

In a Nutshell

Title:  About Sketching: The Art and Practice of Capturing the Moment

Author:  Jasper Salwey

Publisher:  Dover (reprint)

Date of Release:  April 12, 2017

Genre:  Non-fiction/Art

Source:  The publisher provided a digital galley proof for a limited time in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating:  3 Acorns out of 5

 

It seems I missed the memo that said something to the effect that sketching is only for preliminary work for a piece of art.  To be honest I was an adult and worked in artistic endeavors for years before I knew that. Or maybe I did and since I enjoy looking at sketches so much I simply erased it from my memory.

This Dover reprint urges artists to sketch for the sake of sketching. I couldn’t agree more. The author includes plenty of beautiful examples or artists who have done just that – sketched. He also discusses than many methods and tools for sketching. As one might imagine the book is in black and white and I find myself wishing that Dover would update the fonts when they issue a reprint – simply for ease of reading.

Have a good week!

 

Susan

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

