And Be a Villain, by Rex Stout

And Be a Villain (A Nero Wolfe Mystery Book 13) by [Stout, Rex]

In A Nutshell

Title:  And Be a Villain (A Nero Wolfe Mystery Book 13)

Author:  Rex Stout

Publisher:  Crimeline/Random House

Date of Release: 1948

Genre:  Mystery

Source:  Purchased

Rating:  2 Nuts out of 5

Rex Stout is one of my “go-to” authors when I can’t decide what to read next. I love the characters of Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin and rather enjoy the other characters in Wolfe’s household and entourage as well.  But And Be a Villain just did not hold my interest.

It’s a great tale of blackmail and revenge and twisted minds (it is part of the Zeck trilogy if you’re into Nero Wolfe that deeply), but the characters are not as developed as usual and it’s all about Nero and Archie. While other characters have roles, they are much smaller than usual or even some are non-existent. It’s like there was a supporting character strike and Rex Stout wrote around them.

I’m just not feeling this one. I still love the series and Rex Stout will always be a “go-to” author for me, but And Be a Villain isn’t one of his best.

Have a great week anyway!

Susan

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “And Be a Villain, by Rex Stout

  1. Great post, Susan! What a coincidence … I just read this book last week. I was traveling for work and went to the bookstore for something to read on the plane. This was one of just two Rex Stout books at the bookstore, so I got it. I found it an entertaining airplane read, but like you I thought Stout sort of mailed it in on this one. I thought it telling that halfway through the book even Archie was complaining about the lack of action! I still enjoyed reading it, though.
    Thanks for the great review!

Leave a Reply

