Tudor Roses by Alice Starmore

In A Nutshell

Title:  Tudor Roses: Inspired Garments to Knit

Author:  Alice Starmore

Publisher: Dover Publications

Date of Publication: February 15, 2017 – Coming Soon!

Genre:  Non-fiction; Knitting

Source:  The publisher provided a digital galley proof for a limited time in exchange for a fair and honest review

Rating:  Four out of Five Stars

Drop dead gorgeous! Every one of Starmore’s designs are breathtaking in this do-over edition of one from almost 20 years ago. Each sweater is designed for a woman who lived during the Tudor era – Anne of Cleaves, Elizabeth I, Mary Queen of Scots – the list goes on. Starmore and her daughter Jade designed and many times knit the actual garment. Jade Starmore also did the styling and photography which truly updates this volume.

I haven’t knit any of the garments in this book, but the charts and directions appear clear. I knit a Starmore pattern from an early edition of one her books back in the day and came away with a lovely sweater (which the moths also thought was delicious). So I came to this book with a deep appreciation of her pattern drafting skills. I am not disappointed.

I think I’m drawn to her designs because of her use of texture and color in one garment (and usually I can’t decide which I want in a garment because I enjoy working and wearing both). While I’m probably not going to tackle anything this intricate in near future, I’m getting a copy of this one just for my coffee table just because it is so wonderful.

Have a good week!

Susan

 

PS: Don’t forget to check out my new blog, The Sheepish Minimalist.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

