The Six, by Laura Thompson

IN A NUTSHELL

Title:  The Six: The Lives of the Mitford Sisters

Author:  Laura Thompson

Publisher:  St. Martin’s Press

Genre: Biography

Date of Release:  September 6, 2016

Source:  The publisher provided a digital galley in exchange for a fair & honest review.

Rating:  3 stars out of 5

Frankly, I expected more out of this book. The premise is fascinating: six sisters coming of age in the first-half of the 20th century, daughters of privilege, well-educated and very opinionated. The part I find the most interesting is the diversity of their opinions and beliefs. For example, one was a Communist and another a Nazi. Moreover, like most sisters, they didn’t always get along, even when they agreed.

But one aspect of the book turned me off immediately – I quickly got the impression that the author expected one to already be extremely familiar with this family. I knew of them. I’d heard my grandparents and parents mention them, but for the most part they were of that generation. I already knew I didn’t know a lot about them, so I wanted to read the book to find more – not to feel excluded because I wasn’t already a huge fan.

Reviewer ratings are a strange thing – kind of like sausage: you don’t always want to know what goes in them. But this time, I can’t use any weasel words to get around it. The tone of this book is what makes me give it 3 stars out of 5 – I was disappointed, but didn’t dislike it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Biography, Book Review

Leave a Reply

