The Art & Craft of Handmade Books by Shereen LaPlantz

IN A NUTSHELL
Title:  The Art & Craft of Handmade Books
Author:  Shereen LaPlantz
Publisher:  Dover
Date of Release: July 20, 2016
Genre: Arts & Crafts
Source: Dover provided a temporary digital galley in exchange for a fair & unbiased review
Rating:  4 out of 5 stars
Earlier this summer I took a course in coptic bookbinding. It’s not like I needed another hobby, but I was intrigued. Since that time, I’ve gone back and forth with myself about whether I should pursue the making of books. I enjoyed the experience and I really like the sketch book I made. But like I said, I don’t need another hobby. But then I got the chance to review this book.  As a result, I am totally smitten (and the sketchbook I made in class looks terrible in comparison.)
This is a gorgeous book filled with beautiful projects. While I didn’t make anything from the book (yet) I thought the instructions seemed clear. Unfortunately, my digital galley will self-destruct in a few days. But I think I’m going to have to purchase this one. Even if I don’t actually make anything – the photographs and layout are beautifully done.  There’s a wide variety of binding techniques, not just the coptic binding that I took in class, should I start in on making books.  (Of course, I could always give up one of my hobbies. Yeah, right.)
If you are an arts and crafts person looking for another outlet or just someone who is fascinated with the physical book – take a look at The Art & Craft of Handmade Books. I think you’ll be as fascinated as I am.
4 stars out of 5
Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

