Alfred Hitchcock, by Peter Ackroyd

IN A NUTSHELL
TITLE:  Alfred Hitchcock
AUTHOR:  Peter Ackroyd
GENRE:  Biography
PUBLISHER:  Doubleday Books
RELEASE DATE:  October 25, 2016
SOURCE: Doubleday Books in exchange for a fair, unbiased review
RATING: 4 out of 5 stars
“Good evening.”  These two words, spoken by Alfred Hitchcock, are part of one of my earliest recollections. My parents, my father in particular, were huge fans of Hitchcock. Unfortunately for me and probably the reason I remember this so well, is that these two words signaled my bedtime.   Over the years I saw a lot of Hitchcock films and I heard a lot about Alfred Hitchcock, most of it conflicting, so I was thrilled to have an opportunity to maybe set the record straight, at least in my own head.
Ackroyd gives a seemingly unbiased account of Hitchcock’s life – no holds barred. Hitchcock’s love of a dirty joke, sometimes told at the expense of one of his actors; his love of food, his health problems, his long-term marriage and only daughter. There’s not a lot of scandal here which I found rather refreshing. Instead, the reader discovers a driven man who had to stay busy, had to make movies on his terms. I found it fascinating. Hitchcock was a prolific director. So prolific, I thought everyone in Hollywood was in his corner helping push all these films out. That was far from the case.
This book will not be released until the end of October and I apologize for the early review. Hopefully, this gives you a chance to put it on your wish list or “to read” list or bug your library into ordering a copy. 4 out of 5 stars.
1 Comment

Filed under Biography, Book Review

One response to “Alfred Hitchcock, by Peter Ackroyd

  1. I love Ackroyd. He could make paint drying interesting! Bronte

Leave a Reply

