Minimalism: Live a Meaningful Life

IN A NUTSHELL
Title: Minimalism: Live a Meaningful Life
Author:           Joshua Fields Milburn & Ryan Nicodemus
 Publisher:       Asymmetrical Press
Released?        Updated 2nd Edition – December 20, 2015
Source:            Purchased from Amazon *
Rating:             5 out of 5 stars

If you’re looking for a step-by-step recipe for living the minimalist lifestyle, this isn’t it. Since I’ve done a huge amount of down-sizing in the past few years, I needed to know what comes next. This doesn’t mean I still don’t have more “stuff” to divest myself of, but I am to the point I need to know that there’s more to minimalism than just getting rid of “stuff.” I found exactly what I was looking for in this book.

Milburn and Nicodemus tell a bit of their back stories and how they got to where they jointly made a decision to minimize their lifestyles from the corporate, big dollar lifestyle to where they are now. I was fascinated to find out that these two men have been friends since at least their early teens. As I imagined, thankfully there is more to minimalism than getting rid of stuff.

More importantly, the two authors address five points in a minimalist lifestyle: Health, Relationships, Passions, Growth, Contribution. They discuss what they do in each category with great examples. There were no “musts” or “how tos,” instead it was a guidebook to the journey towards a minimalist lifestyle. I’m not sure I grasped everything on the first read, but I’ll certainly be back to read through those sections.

5 out of 5 stars.

 

*This link is provided for the reader’s convenience. I did not/will not receive any compensation for providing the link.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Minimizing

Leave a Reply

