Cable Left, Cable Right: 94 Knitted Cables by Judith Durant

IN A NUTSHELL
Title:                          Cable Left, Cable Right: 94 Knitted Cables 
Author:                    Judith Durant
Photographer:        Mars Vilaubi
Publisher:                Storey Publishing
Source:                     Publisher, in exchange for an honest review
Rating:                      5 out of 5 stars

 

I love Judith Durant’s knitting books and I own most. This is another one I have to have, even though the publisher has provided me with a galley copy. I find her books to be clear, concise and beautifully done. This one is no different. Kudos must go to the photographer, Mars Vilaubi, for his super-clear photographs. Durant’s instructions are excellent; however, I know there’s many knitters out there like me that learned to knit in part by looking at completed knitwear to see how the stitches were done.  So when I stumble knitting, I go to the photographs.

Durant also provides the charts for the cables as well as multiple pages of symbols. Like many knitters, I have Barbara G. Walker’s stitch books, and it should be noted that Durant dedicates this book to Walker. So technically, I probably don’t need this stitch book, but by including charts and color photography, Durant has taken Walker’s work to a higher level. I highly recommend it!

Cable Left, Cable Right will be released at the end of May 2016. It is available for preorder.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

