Charcoal Joe: An Easy Rawlins Mystery, by Walter Mosley

The newest entry into the Easy Rawlins Mystery series won’t be released until June 14, 2016. Even so, I just finished a review copy and couldn’t wait to write the review.
I’ve followed this series since Devil in a Blue Dress (still my favorite in the series). I was initially drawn to that book because the era after The Great Migration in Los Angeles is fascinating to me for some odd reason. Over the course of the years, Easy has matured along with the City of Los Angeles. This latest entry finds Easy in the mid-1960s and in a private detective business with two others. His friend Mouse hires him to help out Charcoal Joe and the twists and turns begin.
While location and time period initially drew me to this series, it’s Mosley’s writing and characterizations that have kept me a loyal reader. Charcoal Joe is no exception. I was sucked in to Easy’s world in no time and experienced a host of emotions during this read. I can’t wait for the next one!
4 starts out of 5.  To be published by Doubleday Books on June 14, 2016.  Doubleday provided a digital copy for my review.
Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

