Great Woodcuts of Albrecht Dürer, edited by Carol Belanger Grafton

Great Woodcuts of  Albrecht Dührer contains 94 of his woodcuts – which is many more than I’ve seen before. I’m always overwhelmed by the amount of detail Dührer has in his illustrations and the dimension his work includes. I can’t say I’m surprised by this as Dührer was one of the first, if not the first, to extensively study and write about perspective.
This edition is a good, clear representation of the woodcuts. Since my knowledge of the stories many of the woodcuts represent is a bit sketchy, I would have benefitted from a brief explanation of the basic story depicted, although I could easily draw my own conclusions. A brief Note section is included in the beginning which I found helpful, but a bit more information would have been even more helpful.
Great Woodcuts of Albrecht Dührer was published by Dover Publications on April 20, 2016. Dover was kind enough to provide a digital copy for me to review. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.
Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

