Snow Falling on Cedars – a Film Review

It’s been ages since I wrote about film. Frankly, it’s been ages since I saw a film that inspired me enough to write about it. This weekend a film that has been on my bucket list since it came out in 1999 arrived from Netflix – “Snow Falling on Cedars.” It wasn’t a huge success when it came out, but it should have been. It’s based on one of my favorite books, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson.  Both the book and film are multi-layered with the characters facing moral dilemmas, racial prejudice and a need for healing. But for me, the story is all about a search for truth. Much of it is set in a courtroom where ultimately there should be a search for truth, but the backdrop of Japanese internment during World War II and the difficult emotions that ensued for all the citizens of the Washington island that is the setting makes for a conflict that rivals that in To Kill a Mockingbird.

It is a visually powerful film, wonderfully acted and is one of the few films I’ve given 5 stars to on Netflix. I highly recommend it and hope you love it as I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Review

Leave a Reply

