Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter – A Book Review

Irises have nothing to do with Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter by Mario Vargas Llosa, but they started to bloom in my back garden so I thought I’d share. Enjoy!

I try to read everything by Mario Vargas Llosa. I enjoy every work in a little different way. I’m never quite sure what to expect and by now, I should know not to assume I know what his novel is about until I read it. Aunt Julia was no different. I expected that the character of Aunt Julia would get together with the scriptwriter – wrong! These two stories are juxtaposed within the life of the protagonist, the aspiring writer Marito. Each storyline is a little bazaar in the way many of us have a bazaar storyline or two in our own lives.  The Aunt Julia storyline is about Marito’s quest for the love of his aunt by marriage (sorry, no real incest) who is recently divorced and twelve years his senior. The scriptwriter, a workaholic works in the same radio station with Marito and is slowly going mad.

I love visiting Vargas Llosa’s world, but I’m always happy to return to my garden of irises.

4 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Gardening, Reading

4 responses to “Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter – A Book Review

Leave a Reply

