Stockpiling and the Minimalist

It’s been some time since I wrote about my minimalism project. Fortunately, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy. One of the things I needed to change in my life in order to pursue a minimalist lifestyle is my tendency to stockpile. Once I started cleaning out drawers, I found makeup well past it’s life expectancy. I know why I bought it. It was “just in case” I couldn’t get to the store when I ran out. I live in a small town surrounded by farms and frankly I need to drive 60 miles to get to a store other than a Wal-Mart. That only enables stockpiling, but it shouldn’t. I found yarn I forgot I had that a purchased “just in case” I ran out of projects or I knew it was a great color for a loved one and well, you know the drill. I have those things well in view now and am not letting myself buy any more yarn until I work though much of what I have. I also stockpiled, because I worried I wouldn’t have the money when I needed the item and I had it at the time of purchase. Instead, I’m trying to use the extra funds for savings, so I have the room and money when I need to purchase a particular item.

In the meantime, I’m allowing myself a “stockpile” of one item of a type to be used. For example, I have one tube of toothpaste in use, and one in the drawer. When I open the one in the drawer, toothpaste goes on the shopping list. I’m a little embarrassed to tell you how many jumbo tubes of toothpaste I had – so I won’t. Suffice it to say, I have a lot more room in the bathroom drawers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Minimizing

Leave a Reply

