It’s All Too Much – An Audio Book Review

It’s All Too Much is by the host of a cable program “Clean Sweep,” Peter Walsh. Since I’ve never seen it, I’m going to guess it’s about clutter. I’m not much of a fan of reality TV and have my cable cut down to the bare minimum so his references to the show in the book were lost on me–but no matter. There’s still a ton of valuable information in this book.

Like a lot of people, I don’t like to be told that “X is the only one you’ll ever need.” So, I won’t do that. Instead, I will say this book is the only clutter book I’ll ever need. I’ve read quite a few and most seem to address only mega hoarders and so far, I’m not that bad. I think Walsh would put me in the Lazy Clutter and Craft Clutter categories (even though what I do is Art, not Craft). These categories are gentle enough to instill action rather than total denial and ultimately inaction.

Walsh also advocates a daily routine of de-cluttering and de-cluttering in smaller chunks of time. I’ve already addressed the Lazy Clutter pile of mail order catalogs on the dining room table and some of the “Craft” Clutter in the lower level of our house. I’ve included a photo of my male cat, Hans, taken during this morning’s session. He’s pushed together all his and his significant other’s toys in a pile and is jealously guarding them – obviously concerned the toys may get tossed.  Walsh encourages families to sign off on de-cluttering projects so everyone adopts and adapts to the life-style change – because it is a huge change of deeply ingrained habits. I’m not sure my family, especially the cats, will do that, but I’m not sure I care.

One section which was extremely helpful was on what receipts to keep. I have huge plastic containers with every credit card receipt for I’m embarrassed to say how long. Most of those will be shredded in the very near future. He also provides websites for additional information from the primary sources, so you don’t just have to take his word for the information.

It’s not a long book – about 6 hours on the audiobook version. There’s a lot of clutter books out there and some may work for some, but this is the one I’ll be sticking with.

3 Comments

Filed under Audiobook Review, Book Review

3 responses to “It’s All Too Much – An Audio Book Review

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to search out any person with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  2. love your writing and feeling inspired,thanks

  3. we work with flowers and so know what it is like to have to have space for all our bits,inspiring

Leave a Reply

