Keeping Watch – A Book Review

Cat Bordhi recommended this book during her Moebius class at Yarnover this past spring. It doesn’t have anything to do with Moebius design or knitting, but she noticed the author, Kathryn A. Sletto at the Shepherds Bay Farm booth at the event. Cat also noticed Kathryn was selling her book. Since I’m always looking for something new and different and perhaps not mainstream to read, I dashed down at the next break. Camilla the llama on the cover has watched me from my nightstand since the 1st of May. I could not stand to disappoint her any longer and began reading.

What a treat! If you’ve ever spent a moment thinking about hobby farming, raising a sheep or two or maybe an angora rabbit, you have to read this book. If you’ve thought about starting a fiber business, you have to read this book.  It may convince you to follow your dream, it may not – it doesn’t matter. What matters is that Sletto covers her life on the farm raising sheep, rabbits, llamas, alpacas, dogs, cats and a grant-writing business with humor and grace. I couldn’t put it down. The writing flowed from one mad cap adventure to the next.

I usually avoid animal books. I’m pretty sensitive and it seems like there’s way too much emotional death in most. Sletto deals with the inevitable loss that comes with farm life with the grace and dignity animals deserve.

Hopefully, you’ll find copies of this book waiting for you at your local bookstore or yarn shop. If not, it’s available on the Shepherds Bay Farm website  and published by Borealis Books.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “Keeping Watch – A Book Review

  1. iPods
    First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?

Leave a Reply

