Grammar Book Favorites

I am English grammar deficient. My freshman English professor was appalled to discover that for parts of speech I translated them into Spanish to figure out if a word was a verb or a noun or an adjective. Please understand Spanish is my SECOND language. My Spanish teachers taught parts of speech, but my English teachers – not so much. Punctuation, I learned in high school business classes. So, having some strong resources in the grammar department is a must for me. The four in the photograph are my favorites:

1. Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing, by Mignon Fogarty

2. Eats, Shoots & Leaves, by Lynne Truss

3. A Dash of Style, by Noah Lukeman

4. The Grammar Devotional, by Mignon Fogarty

I learn best from example and all four of these use examples – Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing has the most. Also, I learn when the writing style is light and humorous. All four of these fit that bill. For me, grammar is something I will have to work on everyday so I might as well have a little fun doing it or I won’t.

Two other good sources is my e-mail subscription to Daily Writing Tips at DailyWritingTips.com and my online subscription to the AP Stylebook, since I can’t always take my book favorites with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Writing

Leave a Reply

