The Social Network – A Film Review

Last night’s feature film was “The Social Network” – the sorta kinda true film on the start of Facebook. I say “sorta kinda” because I bought it hook, line and sinker but did a little additional research after viewing and found that the a literary license must have been prominently displayed during the development. I won’t bore you with the details because it will ruin the film if you haven’t seen it. If you have seen it, I invite you to do a little follow up research. I’d like to view it again now that I know what I know.

This was a great film – superb acting, wonderful story, fast paced. Justin Timberlake’s performance as Sean Parker was excellent. The story is a good example of getting the audience to root for an unlikable protagonist. Unlikeable, because I did not like Mark Zuckerberg, the co-founder of Facebook. I hope he’s really not the “asshole” Allbright, his unrequited love interest, tells him he is – but I’m guessing he is.

The film centers around the lawsuits that were brought against him by his classmates and co-founder. While I usually am not fond of non-linear plots, the technique works well in this film. I highly recommend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Review

Leave a Reply

