More On Writing Groups

I usually blog before bed, so last night I had an opportunity to sleep on what I wrote. This morning, I realized I didn’t write about critiques and writing groups. Critiquing is probably the most valuable part of any writing group. So far my experience online has not been positive. It’s not that I haven’t received positive reinforcement – I have. But I haven’t received the constructive criticism I wanted. So while I will continue to belong to a number of groups, I’m no longer going to submit work to them.  I’m going back to person to person critiquing. There’s more time to have an involved discussion one on one or a bit larger group in person. We operate that way with visual and graphic art where I work. There’s no hard feelings, we’ve gotten to the point where it’s actually a lot fun and we seek each other out for opinions and we end up with great work product.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

