A Monogamous Reader – Not

I am a fickle reader. I can’t stick to one book. It’s not a criticism of the book, it’s just that for some odd reason I need to have at least both a fiction book and a non-fiction book going at the same time. What’s really scary with the advent of electronic books is that I’m getting to the point where I have some deep seated psychological need to have both physical and virtual going at the same time as well.

Right now, in physical format I’m reading Pussyfoot, by Carole Nelson Douglas for fiction and American Indians, the Irish, and Government Schooling, by Michael C. Coleman for non-fiction. (Okay, I admit it. I have eclectic tastes and interests.) On the iPad, I’m reading Confessions of a Pen Monkey, by Chuck Wendig – okay, I don’t know if this is fact or fiction, but it’s wonderful. (I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve even had to agree.) On the iPod, I’m reading/listening to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.

I enjoy the portability of the electronic format. I travel from time to time and can easily go through a book a day which adds up to quite a bit of weight in my luggage if I’m carrying physical books around. Yet, I doubt I’ll ever give up book books. I love the tactile side of physical books: the feel of the cover, the turning of the pages, bookmarks, and one thing I truly miss in electronic format – determining how much I’ve read and how close I am to finishing.

As for just reading one book at a time – never going to happen. I’ve tried. I envy people who can. My spouse is just happy I’m only polygamous in reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading

Leave a Reply

