NaBloPoMo & Indigo Dying

Strange combination, I know. I recently signed up for NaBloPoMo. The premise behind this is to encourage blogging every day. I continue to read articles about making time for one’s writing every day, but have not been as religious as I should be about doing just that. Okay, I write for work. I write a lot for work – but I want to write about fun stuff! So, here I am.

I took a few days off from work about a week ago and was able to spend some of it reading. One of the books I read was one that’s been sitting on my bookshelf for a while – Indigo Dying by Susan Wittig Albert.  This book gets my double-entendre award, actually, triple-entendre award for best title of any book I’ve read in a long time. Here’s why: The story is about a murder in the small town of Indigo, Texas – okay, pretty obvious. But it’s also about how open-pit mining can murder a small town.  In this case, it’s about someone who holds the mineral rights to most of the land in town and decides to sign the rights over to a mining company. It comes up as no surprise he ends up dead and there’s a town full of suspects. Oh, and all this happens during a workshop on dyeing with indigo.

This title is part of a series with China Bayles, a former attorney, now small town herbalist. It’s a nicely crafted, cozy mystery. I haven’t read any of the others in the series and am not sure I will seek them out. There was much more information on open pit mining than I expected –almost to the point of feeling the work was an essay on the evils of open pit mining. I would have liked to have read more about the herbalist side. There are, however a couple of intriguing recipes tucked in the chapter headings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

